By close of nominations for Uganda’s parliamentarians ahead of the 2021 general elections,the ruling national resistance movement party(NRM) had already secured six parliamentary seats in Uganda’s 11th parliament.

The six are unopposed after other parties(including NUP, UPC, FDC, and DP) in/) failed to send candidates in those areas.

The six are Kugonza Emely (Buyanja East, Kibale district), Pius Wakabi (Bugahya county, Hoima district), Hilary Lokwang, Ik county, Kaabong district), Papalu Lillian Obiale (Woman MP Arua district), Enock Nyongore (Nakaseke north, Nakaseke district) and Gyaviira Ssemwanga, Buyamba county, Rakai district).

“This is a sign that denotes the NRM’s strength. The trend will continue even during elections as we seek another term in office” said the party’s communication director Emmanuel Dombo.

NRM has boasted numbers in the legislature since multi-party politics took shape in 1996.

It in fact enjoyed a lion’s share in the 10th Parliament with 199 directly elected members and 84 women MPs in a house of 426 including others from special interest groups.

Uganda’s election road map is slowly building towards the 2021 general elections, with parliamentary nominations to be followed by those for special interest groups like people with disabilities and concluded by the presidential nominations on 3 and 4 November.’ Scientific’ campaigns will then follow before the elections whose actual date will be known after presidential nominations. Elections in Uganda are usually held during the first 30 days of the final 90 of the term of office which means Uganda will vote for new leaders either end of January or the start of February 2021.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.