From left to right Mande Juruni (Coach), Muhammed Santur (General team manager), Nasser Serunjogi(FUBA President

Federation of Uganda basketball associations has summoned 12 players to form part of the team that will contest at the upcoming FIBA Afro basketball 2021 qualifier in Egypt this November.

Uganda is in group E alongside Egypt, Morocco and the zone 3 winner (to be decided at a pre-qualifier in Morocco later this month).
The locally-based players start a-four-days-a-week non-residential training today (Tuesday) at the MTN indoor arena Lugogo under the tutelage of Mande Juruni assisted by Brian Wathum and Andrew Tendo.
“The technical department has picked a team rich on experience so I am certain the little time we have will be put to basics to enable us excel” said Mande Juruni at the occasion of naming the team at Hotel Africana in Kampala.

From these 12 in this non-residential training, only six will be chosen to join the six professionals for the Egypt tournament due 27-29 November 2020.
This will be the first window of the FIBA Afrobasketball 2021 qualifiers with the last and final on set for February 19-21, 2021.
Federation of Uganda basketball association’s (FUBA) President Nasser Sserunjogi is optimistic that despite COVID-19 slowing them down, the players are in good stead.

“These players only play at home but are true professionals who have been training hard during lockdown” said the FUBA president who also confirmed that covid-19 testing has been taken care of and budgetary estimates sent to ministry of sports to enable smooth procedure and travel.
The locally based players will depart on 12 November for a training camp alongside their professional colleagues and will benefit from the coaching nous of George Galanapolous and a couple of friendly engagements to fine tune.

This year’s African qualification process is in five groups (to be played at various venues) whose top three teams will qualify for the final tournament to be hosted by Rwanda between August 24th and September 5th, 2021
Team Uganda.

Titus Lual Odeke,Fayed Bbale and David Deng Kongor (UCU Canons);Tony Drileba,Ben Komakech,Jimmy Abraham Enabu,Joseph Ikong Anyuru,James Okello(City Oilers);Innocent Ochera (JKL Dolphins), Syrus Kiviiri and Geoffrey Soro (Nam Blazers),Stanley Mugerwa (Warriors)
Emmanuel Mugenga (France), Deng Geu (Denmark), Samuel Kalwanyi (USA), and Eric Rwahire (Canada). Ishmail Wainwright (USA), Robinson Opong (Canada).
The Qualification process:
Group A – Tunisia, Central Africa Republic, DRC, Zone 6,7
Group B – Senegal, Angola, Mozambique, Zone 5.
Group C – Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Guinea, Zone 4
Group D – Nigeria, Mali, Rwanda, Zone 1, 2
Group E – Morocco, Egypt, Uganda, Zone 3.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.